Of catalogs & dreams of spring
2006-01-14 ~ 5:59 p.m.

As promised...

I have catalogs. Yes, seed and plant catalogs. Pages of beautiful colors. Interesting new things and comforting classics.

You are most likely staring at the screen now.

I love gardening. It nurtures my soul.

My mother is the reason for my love of plants. I miss my mother a lot. It's hard to believe that she has been gone 23 years this coming May. Harder still, when for a moment I realize that I have already lived longer than she did.

Seed catalogs start arriving in January. They are the precusor of Spring.

A list ~ in no particular order:
Stark Bro's has been a longtime favorite of mine. I would love to have a home with dwarf and miniature fruit trees to enjoy. I have purchased trees from them before ~ fantastic company.

Park Seed company

Stokes Seed Company

Burpee

And because I am concerned about the earth we leave behind ~

For the organic gardeners ~
Seeds of Change

Abundant Life Seeds

The organic seed companies have a lot of other information on their sites. Take some time and look through them.

I need to connect to the earth.

As I type this, it is snowing. Granted it won't be a snow that sticks. I wish that it would. Reading the seed catalogs with a cup of coffee while I watched it snow would make for an awesome afternoon.

One that would please me a great deal.

Now, if I just had someone to share that with and a garden to plan for....

Safe travels