Of reflecting on a year gone by
2006-01-01 ~ 11:13 a.m.

I have been reflecting on the last year... no surprise there I suppose. Aren't most people?

This year has been trying. There have been many blessings and surprises.

There have been turning points ~ moments in time when I know that things have changed.

Lilly has grown so much this year. She is doing so well in school. I love that she loves school so much. Daniel reads to her everynight. "Goodnight Opus". It's amazing listening to this exchange.

Lilly is an artist. For Christmas she received a large (253 pieces) art kit. She has drawn everyday since. I hope that she keeps that love of creativity.

There have been changes at work. I can't say for the best. I want to believe that it is going to settle into something good. I still hope that. Just in case, I am updating my resume. I plan to look a bit this year to see what options I may have.

I continue to be amazed at people in relationship to work.... Working retail has taken a certain amount of faith in people away from me.

Unreasonable expectations have increased.. If you buy something that has a warranty of some kind ~ keep your receipt. Don't expect the business you bought it from to maintain your records for you.

Being yelled at, sworn at, someone being mean to or abusive at me, has never made me inclined to help anyone. You'd be amazed at the number of people who think that it does. There has been more of that this year than I care to think about.

Personally ~ this year has had more difficult places than in a very long time. Perhaps it's the planets. The last 3 months have been a huge struggle. The sensation of drowning has not let up. If not for the amazing kindness of friends, we would not have had any Christmas. I realize that there are people everywhere who did have any chance of a holiday. I know that there are others who are in far worse circumstances than I.

I have to find a way to keep 2006 from being a continuation of the last few months. At least the trying bits.

I asked a friend of mine who is going through a difficult time to write down 5 things she wants to accomplish this year. Just 5 things she wants from 2006.

I want this year to be better financially.

I want this year to be the year we are able to get a home. One that we can have friends over to. One with a yard.

I want to be healthier this year. I've been sick more often this year than any other. We're going to be healthier this year. All of us.

I want to work things out so that Daniel can work this year. He needs the contact with the outside world as much as we need the money.

I want us to travel. Trips to places near or far..... family time. Going places that look interesting. Going just to go. One of the things I remember most about my childhood, are the trips my Grandfather took us on. They are the happiest times.

For each of you who travel this way ~ I wish for you a year of joy and prosperity.

Safe Travels