Of defining oneself part one
2005-12-04 ~ 6:13 p.m.

In the course of things - most of us fill out informational bits.

Generally, there are 'indentifier' questions - e.g.: Marital Status...

I have been thinking about those identifiers and what they are - how do they relate to me, really?

Married? I was once. For a long time. Does that still apply? I'm divorced. I have been for several years. When do I stop 'identifiying' as a divorced woman? I am a single woman.

No one asks if I am someone's friend and how that relates to my life.

I am a woman. That is certainly an important part of my identity. I am also a mother and grandmother.

I have been thinking a great deal about what my identity is. What about me, my life, defines who I am.

Given a bit of rest ~ perhaps I will share the rest of those thoughts here...

Safe Travels