Of differences & lines
2005-11-29 ~ 3:23 p.m.

So, at what point does one persons culture stop and another's begin?

I realize that wars have literally been fought over that question. Since time began I suspect.

I recently had to complete a short training on another culture and a comparison to my own - for work. They were generalities certainly.

And yet...

If one's culture is to poke someone in the eye every time you see them... and my culture is not to do that - in fact it's insulting to poke one in the eye.... In the meeting of our different cultures Where does mine begin and yours end?

Yes, I realize that eye poking as a culture has long since past. For that, I am sure we are all grateful.

I hope that you get my point (no real pun intended there).

If I travel to another country ~ shouldn't I have some understanding of the culture and at least some basic language skills? (even if it is by way of a book)

Or, do I go there and expect the natives of that country accomodate me? My language ~ my customs. Of course it would be wonderful if the folks of the country I was visiting were at least patient with faux pas on my part. I should at least be making some effort.

Just as a visitor to the country I live in should be treated with kindness.

I guess my concern is that my employer is politely telling me that even though someone grasping my shoulder or lapel triggers panic in me... controled panic for the most part...panic just the same ~ but because it is customary in another country to do just that ~ I should calmly allow this gesture, and deal with it.

Working in a retail environment exposes me to a rather large cross section of the public. An amazing study of the human race, really.

I like that the majority of people are polite, kind ~ even nice. The other few ~ truly the minority ~ are the ones that take a huge toll on my spirit. The ones who become unreasonable, who yell or are verbally abusive to me, knowing that I cannot respond with anything but patience and stand and take the abuse. I do not have any problem listening to a legitimate complaint or issue. I love solving problems. (I prefer to fix things so that the problems never occur though..)

I have ranted enough.... I know that there is some kind of balance. That's part of the reason we don't have as many wars as there could be....

Safe Travels