Of family & sadness
2005-08-31 ~ 9:38 a.m.

The "walk" is over. We did very well. I am more than a little relieved in that respect.

The people I know in Louisiana are okay. I am saddened by what I see on the news. It's devastating. Streets I walked with friends...

How many people are out of work now? How many thousands are homeless? How many have died? How many hurt and unable to get to care?

The images are impossible. The losses are unimaginable.

Knowing the spirit of the people of the south....
as soon as they catch their breath... somone will start to cook...
someone will pick up a shovel and a broom...
the trucks will show up...
the community will stand together and rebuild.

They will help each other recover - rebuild and heal.

There is no stronger sense of family than in the south.

It is truly the home to my heart. It always has been.

Safe travels