Of odd calls & perhaps concerns
2005-06-18 ~ 6:21 p.m.

So.... There was a call about 3 weeks ago. It was in the evening. I was at work. The person on the phone was nearly unintelligble. I have no idea why they were whispering. The person on the phone said they had a friend who had talked to me at work 'a couple of times in the garden center'.

I talk to a lot of people everyday. Multiplied by weeks... and months. I always try to be polite and helpful.

The person on the phone asked if I had a girlfriend.

This caused a pause in my thought processes. It isn't that I am closeted at work or anywhere else. I'm not. It just isn't common knowledge at work. The people I work closely with know. The ones that don't... I doubt that they know. I'm not one of those women you would walk past and go "oh ~ there's one". It makes me laugh when from time to time people assume that because I have children, grandchildren and am divorced... that I am straight.

The person on the phone wanted to give me their friends phone number... or wanted mine.

No.

I kept repeating "I don't take care of personal business at work." "Thank you... but I don't take care of personal business at work."

After a few minutes... the conversation was over.

The person called back several times that evening. The ladies at the service desk offered to take messages. No message, thanks.

Today... I get a call early. I'm at work.

"I just wanted to talk to you".

It was nearly impossible to hear. I don't know why they have to be so quiet. It's very difficult.

This person asks again.. "do you have a girlfriend?"

Uhm.. no. But that isn't the point is it? I don't take care of my personal life while I am at work. Particularly, while I am the only key carrier in the house.

"Why don't you have a girlfriend?"

Perhaps because I work some 70 hours a week... but that isn't the point either.

"Can I call you away from work?"

No. I don't give my number out like that.

"You have a nice voice on the phone"

Thank you... I've been told that before. It's very kind of you to say so. Again, though... I don't take care of personal business at work.

"Could I come there and take you to lunch one day?"

I rarely take an actual lunch. Anyone here could tell you that. And... no. ....personal..... buisness....

"Maybe I could come up there and talk to you."

Uhm.. No. Thank you though. I can't talk with someone while I am work... personal..... business.

"It's because of my age, isn't it?"

How am I supposed to know how old you are??? I don't know WHO you are & I can only barely hear you on the phone!!

"Oh"

I have lots of things I have to take care of. You are very kind. Thank you.

It isn't so much the calls. It's knowing when I am there.... it's knowing something about me that, for the most part... the people I am close to know. Not because I feel the need to keep it to myself.. but it has nothing to do with work. Who I prefer to keep company with has nothing to do with my ability to do my job.

At first I thought it was someone playing some kind of joke... albeit a mean one. Now. I just don't know.

Thoughts??

Safe travels, dear ones