Of Blessings & Devasation & Helping others
2004-12-31 ~ 2:58 p.m.

As 2004 comes to a close...

I expected to be able to come here and post lovely things about the holidays. I expect I will do that a little later.

We are so very blessed. I have read a lot of the information out there today about the tsunami that devastated Asia. It's overwhelming to think about what has to be done to make things simply livable again. Children alone and looking for their parents... parents desperately looking for their children. Things can be replaced. The immense task of putting systems back into place to even make basic living and travel will be a daunting task.

While looking online I found the blog of a young man (he's 13 yrs old) in Florida ~ Austin's Blog is amazing. Take a moment and check out what he's done.

I realize that the traffic past this tiny spot on the web is little more than the flutter of a butterfly wing...

The government of Canada is matching contributions from it's citizens... So far the US hasn't offered anything like that. Though there has been assistance offered.

There are a lot of very worthy organizations doing all they can do to help. Knowing that tomorrow I can safely travel to work ~ That today I can sit in my living room typing away on my computer ~ listening to the background noise of cartoons that Lilly is watching... yes.. Lilly who is safe in her home, happily playing with her new toys and eating cherries while she talks with her dolls... ~ knowing that we don't have to find a way to deal with the loss and devastation that hundreds of thousands of people do....

I'm taking my lunch money.. My coffee money... and dropping it in. My small contribution won't change the way things are... but a lot of peoples lunch money will make a difference.

Let the little flutter of the butterfly wings that pass this place make a difference....

Bright blessings & Safe Travels