Of friends, difficult weeks & holiday treasures
2004-12-10 ~ 6:48 p.m.

This week has been....

difficult.

I accomplished a lot though. I managed to make apple butter. I started pear jam. I baked bread and cookies.

I comforted a friend who lost his mother with less than a week to go from "she's fine" to "omg, she won't be here tomorrow". Having lost my mother so many years ago, I have been on the road he journeys now. My heart aches for him.

Frozen-Vodka and I have been text paging across the country. She is a truly delightful woman. She has a wonderful spirit. I think of her as a friend ~ and have been very blessed by her 'notes'. Perfect distractions. I must thank her for the unintentional support.

In the midst of this week ~ Sara called & asked me for the name/vintage of a Merlot that I like. I explained that if she wanted to know my favorite wine - that would be V.Sattui'sGamay Rouge. She then explained that I had become a character in the book she is writing. Sara also told me that she felt that I am "difficult to decribe". I asked her to share what she came up with when she figured it out. I am sure that it will be at the very least ~ interesting.

On Sunday last ~ we went to the annual sushi buffet at The Cultured Pearl. It was lovely.

I have been delighted in finding gifts for friends. I was gently reminded that a woman who comes to our store makes baskets.... She is making baskets for my crew. I will fill them with small things... baked things. Holli will help make them beautiful. I am pleased with this.

I bought Lilly's tree this week. We will decorate it this weekend. Daniel put it in the stand and placed it in the dining area after she had fallen asleep. She woke up to her tree waiting for her. After she adjusted one small branch on the tree ~ she announced "There." as though that was all that it needed to be perfect.

My vacation starts next Saturday. I am anxiously awaiting this time off. As much as I need to be at work ~ I need the quiet time more.

A friend of mine used to remind me to:

"Be Still."

I need to write that on my hand for a couple of weeks. Just as a reminder. *smile*

In this season of gifting ~ both commercial & personal ~ I hope that each of you finds time for yourself... that you stop & listen to the moment. Be kind to yourself.

Safe Travels, Bright Blessings & Heartfelt wishes of Simple Joy.