Of Mom & Shades of Grey
2004-05-23 ~ 10:13 p.m.

For those of you looking for an upbeat entry.. you may want to wait til the next one.

Twenty years ago this week, I was sitting next to my mother's death bed. She was not yet my age now... She would be 64 this year.

The cause of my mothers too early demise was neural aneurysms. For those of you who are saying... "huh?" (one of my 2 dedicated readers)

an�eu�rysm - n.: A localized, pathological, blood-filled dilatation of a blood vessel caused by a disease or weakening of the vessel's wall

Mom's aneurysms presnted in her head. She had surgery about 6 weeks prior to clip the first one, the one that let us know she even had them. That surgery went well.

We knew then though... we just knew. We talked a lot about the knowing that her time was short.

She spent time with Daniel and Sara. Sara was very wee then. There are even some funny stories mixed into that time. I'll share those on another day.

She had surgery on May 21st. During that surgery she lost most of her blood volume through a rupture of that second aneurysm. She never woke up. On May 25th, I signed the paperwork to take her off of life support. The damage done to her brain from that event was devastating. I couldn't... I wouldn't expect her to continue in the state she would have. As it was, her heart agreed with me... some 5 minutes after taking the machines away, it stopped beating.

I miss her terribly, sometimes. I don't grieve her leaving. It was her time to go. I have no doubt of that. I still miss her company.

For whatever reasons, this year is hard. I have had little grey surrounding her passing most years. This year feels different.

Just sad.

With that said........

Safe Travels