Of Ice ~ Part 3... Of injuries ~ Part 2
2004-03-24 ~ 6:58 a.m.

Good morning

Just in case I hadn't abused my body & spirit enough this winter...

I was walking out to the garden center at work, 6:30am Monday morning... talking to an associate about some product that we needed for a contractor...

Do you have a visual?

Now... insert one cartoon like slip on a patch of ice between two large tables of plants... You know the one... where the feet are completely off the ground... where the cartoon character is then dropped directly to the ground... flat on their back... only to lay there for a bit making a sound like something dying.

That was me.

Laying there taking a small inventory of parts... wondering who was making that pitiful sound & why wouldn't anyone help that poor person... oh.. damn... that's me.

My knee, you know the one that was just repaired, made horrible clicking sounds when I straightened it out. My back was having a field day. Still is actually.

When I spoke to my sister about it, she suggested that perhaps the Universe was suggeting I slow down.... If I get any slower I'll be a speedbump. Then again, if I keep falling down I will be a speedbump anyway.

I wouldn't go to the hospital. The one here would have diagnosed me with pnuemonia or amputated my elbow for no understandable reason. I called the doctors office. The nurse's comments went so far as to suggest I ice my knee... since I could walk and the doctor doesn't really deal with backs so she couldn't help me out there. Yes, go to therapy on Tuesday morning & have them look at it.

I've apparently 'sprained/strained' my back muscles & aggravated my knee (it's swollen). The bruises started showing up yesterday.

I hope that spring is better than the last months of this winter have been.

Safe Travels